Job Corps Fraud Blog

Nationwide mismanagement of Job Corps calls for action!

More Reader’s Comments from August 24, 2010

-from Howard to Trevor,

Here is my take, this coming from a former Residential Living Manager and Center Director:

All dorms on center should have had cleanliness standards in force to begin with. When the Evans dorm supervisor decided to enforce the rules, she should have given the students a reasonable amount of time to get their rooms in order – let’s say three days and a definite time and date when the students would be held accountable for their rooms. If someone had some extenuating circumstance that would have prevented him from cleaning his room in time, that should have been taken into consideration.

I have enforced cleanliness rules, and my dorms won awards for the best Residential Living program the two yrs I was manager – and not just cleanliness was evaluated, but the whole program as well. You can tell this to your supervisor, from someone who knows the system.

-from Howard to Trevor,

Second round of thoughts:

I’ve known sloppy college students, but when you are living two to four to a room, it’s necessary to keep things clean and organized, or the environment becomes unlivable very quickly. Just look at military standards – they are that way for a reason. The government (taxpayers) are paying you to stay in the Job Corps program. When you accept government assistance, you have to play by its rules. You’re old enough to know what will happen if you don’t.

As a college student, one of the elite, you should not have to have someone tell you to keep your room clean. Life is unfair sometimes, so suck it up, stop whining, and keep your room above standards. I hope you never have a worse problem than this in your life. You will laugh about this in years to come, as I am now.

Best of luck to you in college – make a success of yourself,

-from Trevor

Hey Howard, I totally understand that the room should’ve been clean the entire time. It totally would’ve been in better conditions had I been reminded to clean. I try to spend lots of time off-centre but as far as dorms go, I’m always either by the computer or by the bed. The computer desk is simply where the only mess was. There were rooms that were so full of trash by the trash-bin there was bugs everywhere. The Evans Hall residential advisor mentions that some rooms had personal belongings that shouldn’t be in that room due to safety reasons (portable fridge, coffee pot, microwave). Those seem to be the two biggest issues. At Evans Hall all the rooms feature two-to-a-room in which some of us spend about 7-10 hours off centre anyways. From what I gathered from our previous dorm meeting as opposed to the one from last week, Our Res Coordinator does have a mission for us: to get better things for our dorm, such as better public access furniture, mattresses/sheets/blankets, etc. She says those things wouldn’t be given to us now since our rooms aren’t meeting standards, which, if someone was enforcing the room cleanliness policy, either the Res. Coordinator we have now or the previous one who was there not too long ago, we could’ve been somewhere with progress. We are the college students, seen as more mature, more drawn into conflict, and more responsable. We won’t rebel or stage an uprising coup d’etat against the Res department because we’d have to clean our rooms. It seems like the fact our centre has the nostalgic of all supplies (computers, furniture, necessities, perks) because the supplies get abused. They get abused because the rules are not being enforced. They’re there on paper, just not by an R.A.’s words. This is why our centre won’t get any chance to get new stuff. Job Corps could get us a few nice things from at least Gen-Z times. I know now we won’t get something futuristic, top-notch, sophisticating things. I just know that dorm life works with student-staff cooperation. You get nowhere without the other. This is the case for most departments in Job Corps.

-from Howard to Trevor

Excuses, excuses, take responsibility for yourself. I’m sure you were told that you were responsible for keeping your room clean when you enrolled in Job Corps and during your orientation week. “It would have been in better conditions had I been reminded to clean” is just an infantile thing to say.

Your statement, “in which some of us spent 7-10 hours off centre anyways” makes no sense. Do you spend 7-10 hrs in the room or 7-10 hrs off center? You’re lucky you can spend time off center. Lots of Job Corps are so remote that to do that is impossible and things can get boring pretty fast.

You have a dorm and center student government don’t you? Why don’t you get involved and work along with your supervisor to raise the standards of your dorm and then you will be able to acquire the nice amenities you talk about. I know this is possible because I did it. I took some ratty old looking dorms and transformed them using an incentive system that each month tallied up cuts, lates, positives, GEDs earned, etc, all fed into a formula, and the top dorm each month won some very nice prizes, like: carpeting, bed spreads, wide screen TVs, curtains, etc. We made barren dorms into inviting home-like environments and changed behavior for the positive as well. I was also adviser to the center student government, so I know what I’m talking about.

Right now I don’t see you using your leadership qualities to affect positive change. I see someone who uses a lot of words, in a confusing manner, to complain.
“Nostalgic of all supplies” – what does this mean? Even in the context you use, it is a poor use of words and doesn’t make much sense. In fact, much of your ramblings don’t make much sense. If I were marking your post as an essay, I would have given you a failing grade (I’m also a teacher.) Bottom line, Trevor, start acting like a real college student, grow up, learn how to write/communicate using standard English, and you will go places.

*Trevor is a student from the Pittsburg Job Corps Center

Filed under: Comments, Job Corps, Job Corps Centers, Pittsburg Job Corps Center, Reader's Comments, , ,

One Response - Comments are closed.

  1. Trevor Campbell says:

    Howard,

    I did leave a possibility for the room cleanliness to be enforced. I mentioned something called “Section Leaders”. The dorms for Vocation kids have them. They make sure the details are done. If I find a legit way to pitch the idea of having section leaders to an R.A. or residential supervisor that would work out for the people interested in taking this responsibility, and the students of that hall, along with the R.A.’s who would be making sure this works well, then maybe our dorm having students influencing students to do their responsibilities might just work. Would you have any suggestions? I would love to take advise from someone who’s worked in the program, simply because they might have something worth hearing. I believe you do. I do know that I’ve seen Students taking leadership positions does cause conflict at places its happened. SGA Students (which is mainly for just shop students & work with recreation issues), Leadership Students monitering the lunch lines, Dorm Section leaders on Vocation Dorms, and students who work for assisting other staff members through WBL can get a bad reputation between students. Could there be Jealousy? Perhaps most likely yes. Could taking leader positions help Students get a job, which is one purpose of the program? Absolutely. Can students be good at a position they earn or get, as well as abuse it? Yes, of course. Do students need to care about what other students think & could some of them still do so? No, they don’t, but they might. Could a student get angry that a student is telling them to do something, and decide to call them a snitch to get the student angry? Yes, it can happen. Will those students get over it? I hope so.

    I can’t speak for every centre. I am also not trying to speak for everyone at my centre. I’ve just seen that people are as a majority not pleased or don’t care about the students who get authorities. So, what would you say to this? I believe that I will trust you. I do believe you know what you’re talking about. You wouldn’t have to repeat it a couple of times. I understand & can respect that. There are a lot of questions and things to think about when selecting students to assist staff. What do you say is a benefitial way to have students assist us without students causing conflict?

    I’ve actually kind of understood of an R.A. who says we don’t need luxuries (such as room of the month gets a weekly bus pass) to what you said works (tv, better supplies) because can do what we’re supposed to do. I mean, just like what that R.A. said that I took from it was: An Apartment Lease Owner won’t give you a flat screen if your apartment is the best of all the other tenants. I wouldn’t get upset any Super Tuesday we didn’t get pizza during locker/closet inspections. I understand that. I look at “luxurious rewards” as a tease or bribe to get us to so something. What I believe is yes, enforce the rules that are written, but don’t make an equal centre-wide rule have different consequences. How is that fair? That was the one thing I was mad about and used the better functioning of the shop dorms as my back up. So, if tangible items that are more for a perk is the most easiest way to get students to do something, what do these students do if they do something they’re supposed to do but don’t get something they can use as a luxury?

    Like

