Job Corps Fraud Blog

Nationwide mismanagement of Job Corps calls for action!

Reader’s Comments about Iroquois Job Corps July 17, 2010

-from Cherie (On a Former HR Employees Story)

This does sound like Iroquois. I was actually in the process of figuring out a way to report the center when I stumbled onto this. I was hoping with audio evidence, hopefully the cooperation of some other staff, and the piles of info a good friend of mine (recently let go for reasons similar to the article above) has, maybe some damage could be done. Though after taking a look at this website it almost seems pointless trying to get anything situated, even with all the obvious laws they’re breaking.

They’ve taken away lunch breaks on certain days even with an 8 hour shift. Breaks are deducted from your lunch hour during the week, there’s an obvious discrimination against female employees when it comes to pay, and suggestions to better the center (ones that actually require work) are shot down with excuses that aren’t even true.

-from Cherie (On a Former HR Employees Story)

The idea of Job Corps itself is a good idea. I’m a student there because I had some anxiety problems that built up after so many years and just left school. After about a year I really didn’t have much choice but to join this program, and after about six months I’m almost finished. I received a pretty high score on my GED, I finished most of my CNA with mainly A’s, I’ve got phlebotomy training under my belt, and with the help of a handful of staff I’ve gotten a handle on my anxiety issues.

I owe a lot to this program, but you’re right it does need to be modified BIG time. There’s too much deceit, and too many good students/staff fall through the cracks in that clay pavement they want to call a road to success.

-from Job Corps Fraud

Hi Cherie,

I’m so glad you wrote. You seem like a very intelligent young woman! Please, please, do not give up on filing complaints against your center.  When I have the time I’m going to write an article detailing the correct way to do it.

Unfortunately, our Government is very complex, The Office of the Inspector (OIG) only can investigate and fine Job Corps centers for fraud, number manipulation and falsification of documents sent to them etc. (see Complaints tab).  Your State Attorney General’s office will investigate complaints of violations of Wage and Hour Laws (or, they will tell you which office in your state can).

Unfortunately, a lot of people have so much anger at Job Corps, by the time they write a complaint, it might contain more ranting and raving than it has facts so that it may be thrown to the bottom of the pile of a very busy “in box.”

Of these two excerpts which would you investigate?

“On March 10 – 30, 2009 I was required to put NAME NAME on Home Work Based Learning despite the fact that the student had already obtained a job working for his Father’s automotive shop, address and phone number enclosed, and the student quit Job Corps on March 9, 2009. Included is a copy of the student’s resignation letter dated March 9, 2009. Please check the Leave Reports in Citrix for March 10 – 30, 2009.”

Or, “The director is nothing but a liar, he tells us there’s no money despite his driving around in a big fancy car, and he has favorites who do nothing in the office all day. I think he’s also having sex with students. And kids go on break all the time during the day.”

One is ranting and one is a formal, factual complaint.

Both the OIG and the Attorney General’s Office will not give out your name under any circumstance.  I told OIG to give Shriver my name and I know for a fact that OIG did not.

Right now all we have are these two institutions to help us. We have to do it in a way that is factual, correct, and comes across composed and reasonable.  Hopefully, if enough people come forward and file complaints against their Job Corps Centers for the outrageous behavior that is condoned by contractors, something might be done someday.

I’m hoping the media will find this website and take an interest.  It’s only when there is a nation-wide expose that follows up on OIG and Attorney General Reports will there be change.

Students like you are few and far between. You will go far in life.  You are an exception to the rule. I believe all students deserve to succeed in Job Corps, not just a few who “have the right stuff” but especially for those who really need us.

Please come back to check in often, we’d like to hear from you.  I know you will become all you dream to be. Congratulations on your hard work.

Andrea for Job Corps Fraud

-from Juanita

Do not get rid of any evidence. Many people are continuously trying to stop these people. Perhaps you could write a little about what you have, and maybe we can find a way to connect. From IJC also.

-from Job Corps Fraud

If you both send an Email to me at jobcorpsfraud@yahoo.com I could send each of you your Email addresses. I would absolutely have to have your permission to do this.

-from Bruno

I can back up what Cherie said about the lunch breaks. I worked in the Finance  Office at Iroquois during the time that a representative from DOL was reviewing staff time sheets. He  found that many of them did not correctly represent the hours the staff member actually worked. Most of these people worked in Independent Living. They were forced to work through their lunch break so they filled out their time sheets accordingly. Their supervisors would then change their time sheets without telling the employee and turn them in to the Finance Dept. This was done so that they would not have to pay overtime. Because of this practice, the DOL found that several staff members were not paid for the hours they worked. They ended up having to pay the employees what they owed them. they owed one staff member over $1500.00.
Unfortunately, after a few weeks passed, this illegal practice started again and I am fairly sure it is still going on. It is amazing that no one is ever held accountable at this center. I would also like to encourage Cherie not to give up in pursuing her case especially with audio evidence.

-from Juanita

Transportation also worked through lunch, 1 hr free labor per day per week.  I sure never received any refund.

Filed under: Employees, Iroquois, Job Corps, , , , , ,

3 Responses - Comments are closed.

  1. juanita says:

    Transportation also worked through lunch, 1 hr free labor per day per week. I sure never received any refund.

    Like

  2. Bruno says:

    I can back up what Cherie said about the lunch breaks. I worked in the Finance Office at Iroquois during the time that a representative from DOL was reviewing staff time sheets. He found that many of them did not correctly represent the hours the staff member actually worked. Most of these people worked in Independent Living. They were forced to work through their lunch break so they filled out their time sheets accordingly. Their supervisors would then change their time sheets without telling the employee and turn them in to the Finance Dept. This was done so that they would not have to pay overtime. Because of this practice, the DOL found that several staff members were not paid for the hours they worked. They ended up having to pay the employees what they owed them. they owed one staff member over $1500.00.
    Unfortunately, after a few weeks passed, this illegal practice started again and I am fairly sure it is still going on. It is amazing that no one is ever held accountable at this center. I would also like to encourage Cherie not to give up in pursuing her case especially with audio evidence.

    Like

  3. juanita says:

    Do not get rid of any evidence. Many people are continuously trying to stop these people. Perhaps you could write a little about what you have, and maybe we can find a way to connect. From IJC also.

    Like

